Tuesday, March 25, 2014

Maryland Lawyer for Driving With a Suspended Driver's License :: Attorney G. Randolph Rice, Jr.

Maryland Lawyer for Driving With a Suspended Driver's License

Maryland Penalties for driving with a suspended driver's license.

The penalties for driving with a suspended license in Maryland depend on which section of the traffic code you are charged with.

If you are charged with 16-303(c) " person may not drive a motor vehicle on any highway or on any property specified in § 21–101.1 of this article while the person’s license or privilege to drive is suspended in this State." or 16-303 (f) "A person may not drive a motor vehicle on any highway or on any property specified in § 21–101.1 of this article while the person’s license issued by any other state is suspended." the penalties are:

First Offense:

  • 1 year and/or $1,000 fine;
  • 12 points assessed to your Maryland driving record.

Second or Subsequent Offense:

  • 2 years in jail and/or $2,000 fine;
  • 12 points assessed to your Maryland driving record.
If you are charged with 16-303(h) "A person may not drive a motor vehicle on any highway or on any property specified in § 21–101.1 of this article while the person’s license or privilege to drive is suspended under § 17–106, § 26–204, § 26–206, or § 27–103 of this article." or 16-303(i) "(1) This subsection applies only to a person whose license or privilege to drive is suspended under the traffic laws or regulations of another state for: (i) Failure to comply with a notice to appear in a court of that state contained in a traffic citation issued to the person; or (ii) Failure to pay a fine for a violation of any traffic laws or regulations of that state. (2) A person may not drive a motor vehicle on any highway or on any property specified in § 21–101.1 of this article while the person’s license or privilege to drive is suspended under the traffic laws or regulations of any other state as described in paragraph (1) of this subsection." the penalties are:

First Offense:
  • 60 days in jail and/or $500 fine;
  • 3 points assessed to your Maryland driving record.
Second or Subsequent Offense:
  • 60 days in jail and/or $500 fine;
  • 3 points assessed to your Maryland driving record.
What happens in Maryland if caught driving with a suspended driver's license?
  1. The officer can issue you the appropriate citations and allow you to drive away, not taking away your driver's license;
  2. The officer can issue you the appropriate citations and allow you to drive away, taking away your driver's license;
  3. The officer can arrest you and issue the appropriate citations; or
  4. The officer can not arrest you, issue you the appropriate citations and allow you to leave the vehicle in that location.
Driving with a suspended driver's license penalty.

For a First Offense conviction:
  • Penalty for violation of 16-303 (c) Driving on Suspended License Generally: Maximum of $1,000 fine or 1 year in jail, or both.
  • Penalty for violation of 16-303 (f) Driving on License Suspended by Other State: Maximum of $1,000 fine or 1 year in jail, or both.
  • Penalty for violation of 16-303 (h) Driving on License Suspended by Certain Provisions: Maximum of $500 fine or 60 days in jail, or both.
  • Penalty for violation of 16-303 (i) Driving on License Suspended by Another State for Failure to Appear in Court or Pay Fine: Maximum of $500 fine or 60 days in jail, or both.
For a Second of Subsequent Offense conviction:
  • Penalty for violation of 16-303 (c) Driving on Suspended License Generally: Maximum of $1,000 fine or 2 years in jail, or both.
  • Penalty for violation of 16-303 (f) Driving on License Suspended by Other State: Maximum of $1,000 fine or 2 years in jail, or both.
  • Penalty for violation of 16-303 (h) Driving on License Suspended by Certain Provisions: Maximum of $500 fine or 60 days in jail, or both. (Penalty if same for First Offense)
  • Penalty for violation of 16-303 (i) Driving on License Suspended by Another State for Failure to Appear in Court or Pay Fine: Maximum of $500 fine or 60 days in jail, or both. (Penalty is same for First Offense)
MVA Points for Driving on a Suspended License in Maryland:
  • MVA Points for violation of 16-303 (c) Driving on Suspended License Generally: 12 Points
  • MVA Points for violation of 16-303 (f) Driving on License Suspended by Other State: 12 Points
  • MVA Points for violation of 16-303 (h) Driving on License Suspended by Certain Provisions: 3 Points
  • MVA Points for violation of 16-303 (i) Driving on License Suspended by Another State for Failure to Appear in Court or Pay Fine: 3 Points
Maximum Maryland penalty for driving on a suspended license.

Driving with suspended license penalty in Maryland?

What is "failure to comply suspension" in Maryland?

If you did not:
  1. Pay the fine;
  2. Request a waiver hearing; or
  3. Request a trial.
The District Court will make your case failure to comply - suspension and then notify the MVA to suspend you driver's license until you pay the fine.

Call Maryland Suspended License Lawyer G. Randolph Rice, Jr. at 410-288-2900 or email him for immediate legal help with your driving on a suspended license case.

If you are caught driving on a suspended license the police officer has a couple of options.  

Call Maryland Suspended License Lawyer G. Randolph Rice, Jr. at 410-288-2900 or email him for immediate legal help with your driving on a suspended license case.

The penalty in Maryland for driving with a suspended driver's license is as follows:

Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration Point consequence for a conviction of the following traffic statutes:
In addition to jail time and fines, the court can impose a period of probation, driver improvement program, community service or another other condition the court deems appropriate.

Call Maryland Suspended License Lawyer G. Randolph Rice, Jr. at 410-288-2900 or email him for immediate legal help with your driving on a suspended license case.

The maximum penalty for driving on a suspended license in Maryland can range from 60 days in jail and/or a $500 fine to 2 years in jail and a $2,000 fine.

Call Maryland Suspended License Lawyer G. Randolph Rice, Jr. at 410-288-2900 or email him for immediate legal help with your driving on a suspended license case.

Failure to comply suspension is the notes places on a file when a driver does not comply with a traffic citation.  If you are issued payable citations in Maryland, speeding, failing to stop at a stop sign, and you don't:
  1. Pay the fine;
  2. Request a waiver hearing; or
  3. Request a trial.
Then the Court will mark the tickets "failure to comply - suspension" and notify the MVA.  The Maryland MVA will then suspend your driver's license until you pay the fine.

Maryland MVA suspended license. 

Call Maryland Suspended License Lawyer G. Randolph Rice, Jr. at 410-288-2900 or email him for immediate legal help with your driving on a suspended license case.

Driving Suspended License Maryland.
What happens if I receive a traffic citations and I don't do any about it?
Maryland Judiciary Case Search.
Do you want to find your court date or what traffic citations you have been charged with? Click here for the Maryland Judiciary Case Search link to learn more and search for your case.